Alum of the Month: Carley Kauble

Carley Kauble is a senior product manager at Asurion, a technology company providing protection and support solutions for major wireless carriers, cable providers and retailers. In her current role she is responsible for driving the product growth strategy for a major wireless carrier.

While Carley was a student in the MEM program, her two favorite classes included NUvention and Strategic Management. “They had just launched the NUvention course and I was able to fit it into my schedule. It was a unique opportunity to work with students in other disciplines towards a common goal of new product development in healthcare. Strategic Management was also fantastic. Professor McNeeley’s passion and experience was unbeatable!”

Cauble

When it comes to career growth, Carley credits the MEM program with equipping her with the tools she needed to excel. “The program allowed me to confidently understand and speak the business language while also strengthening my engineering foundation. From day one, I could apply what I was using in the classroom to my work. No matter where I have been in my career path since MEM, I have been able to leverage my learnings. For example, during my time in the MEM program I was primarily working in the manufacturing industry. Coursework such as Factory Physics and Supply Chain Management had a big impact on my ability to quickly understand my clients and create the right solutions. Today my focus is on product strategy where I lean heavily on the Strategic Management coursework. I would not have been ready to take on a product management role without the MEM program.”

The MEM alum leaves current and prospective students with a few words of advice. “Take advantage of the resources available to you as part of the Northwestern community. MEM faculty goes above and beyond for their students, get to know them and leverage the Northwestern network. For perspective students, the MEM degree is a great differentiator versus an MBA. Being able to speak the language of engineers and the business across an organization will serve you well!”

Leave a Reply

